J. C. Konen Heads Ticket in 1958-59 Election



J. C. Konen

C. KONEN (1943), vice president, research, Archer-Daniels-Midland Company, Minneapolis, Minnesota, will be the unopposed candidate for president of the American Oil Chemists' Society in the 1958-59 balloting by mail.

ing by mail. Election ballots were sent to all active members of the Society on January 13, and the deadline for voting will be March 24. Results of the election will be announced at the 49th annual meeting, to be held at the Peabody hotel, Memphis, Tenn., April 21-23, 1958, with Allen Smith, Perkins Oil Company, as general chairman.

Candidates for the office of vice president are N. D. Em-

bree (1940), director of technical operations, Distillation Products Industries, Division of Eastman Kodak Company, Rochester, N. Y., and J. J. Ganucheau (1918), district chemist, Wesson Oil and Snowdrift Company Inc. (formerly Southern Cotton Oil Company), Gretna, La. The former is currently on the Industrial Liaison Panel for the Food Protection Committee of the National Research Council. The latter was third vice president of the Society in 1936 and again in 1942; he was a member-atlarge on the Governing Board from 1954 to 1957.

Two candidates are unopposed on the slate, the secretary and the treasurer. R. W. Bates (1942), development chemist, Food Research Department, Armour and Company, Chicago, has been secretary since 1954. A. F. Kapecki (1937), secretary-treasurer, Wurster and Sanger International Inc., and secretary, Wurster and Sanger Inc., Chicago, has been treasurer since 1953.

There are six candidates for member-at-large on the Governing Board, with three to be elected.

Two of the six are incumbents. A. R. Baldwin (1944), director of research, Cargill Inc., Minneapolis, Minn., editor of the Journal of the American Oil Chemists' Society since 1949, has been a member-at-large, 1951-53, and again since 1956. R. C. Stillman (1934), who is in charge of analytical standards and laboratory factory service, Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, O., was elected to the Governing Board last year. He is chairman of the Oil Color Committee of the Society and chairman of the representatives and delegates to the Inter-Society Color Council.





N. D. Embree





A. R. Baldwin

R. T. Doughtie Jr.

The other four candidates are R. T. Doughtie Jr. (1933), D. L. Henry (1946), A. E. MacGee (1931), and K. F. Mattil (1944).

Mr. Doughtie is chemist in charge, supervision of cottonseed grading, U.S.D.A., Memphis, Tenn. He is active in Smalley and other committee work and was appointed to the Membership Committee in 1956 and to the Examination Board (formerly Referee) in 1957. He is chairman of the golf arrangements for the Memphis convention committee this spring.

Mr. Henry is associate director, Law and Company, Atlanta, Ga. He has been on the Uniform Methods Com-



A. F. Kapecki



R. W. Bates



D. L. Henry



A. E. MacGee



mittee since 1952 and, in addition to other committee work, was chairman of the special committee on by-laws, 1953-56.

Dr. MacGee has been manager of the Industrial Division, Skelly Oil Company, Kansas City, Mo., since 1946; from 1930-41 he was manager of solvents sales for Skelly. In between he was officer-in-charge of the chemistry section, U. S. Navy, Washington, D. C. He has been active in various committees of the Society and is now chairman of two: advertising and technical safety. Back in 1931 or 1932 he served on a special petroleum ether committee with Will Irwin of Swift and Company, Chicago, and R. H. Fash of the Fort Worth Laboratories. They worked out the official A.O.C.S. specification for petroleum ether, which is still in effect for analytical work throughout the oil and fat industry.

Dr. Mattil is associate director, research, Swift and Company, Chicago. For the Society he has been a member of the Education Committee since 1947 and chairman since 1955. He was chairman of the North Central Section 1954-55, on the Nominating and Election Committee in 1955, and in 1954 on the special committee to study the fiscal year.

Meetings . . .

The Soybean Research Council of the National Soybean Processors Association has scheduled a symposium for April 24, 1958, in Memphis, immediately following the annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society.

The program for the 27th annual meeting of the Inter-Society Color Council, to be held March 25–26, 1958, at the Sheraton-Park hotel, Washington, D. C., includes a symposium on "Color in the Building Industry."

The Association of German Machinery Manufacturers is the sponsor of INTERPACK (International Trade Fair of Packaging Machines, Confectionery Machine, and Packaging Materials), the first trade fair in Germany to be devoted exclusively to packaging and confectionery technique. The dates are March 2–9, 1958, in Düsseldorf.

The technical program for the 14th annual conference and exhibition of the National Association of Corrosion Engineers, to be held March 17–21, 1958, at the Civic auditorium, San Francisco, includes 85 papers scheduled in 16 symposia. Behavior of new corrosion-resistant nonferrous metals in chemical-industry applications will be discussed at the chemical-industry symposium.

A progress report on nuclear developments in the electric-power industry is scheduled for the 20th annual American Power Conference, to be held at the Sherman hotel, Chicago, March 26–28, 1958.



Most edible oil refiners have found this statement true over the years

IF you want

- economical bleaching
- less FFA rise
- greater stability
- less filter cloth replacement
- better clay uniformity

In other words Better-Cheaper Bleaching

USE B-C



BENNETT-CLARK CO., Inc.

P. O. Box 951 NACOGDOCHES, TEXAS